|   | 
						
						   "official" ruling. 
						 
						1. That sort of confusion is one of the reasons C&T 
						rules are looking to be  
						moved into a separate appendix. Item iii applies to C&T 
						only. 
						2. Percussive blows in heavy rapier are NOT allowed. 
						3. It is acceptable to throw a circular or slashing 
						attack as long as it is  
						transitioned to an edge cut or thrust BEFORE it hits 
						your opponent. 
						 
						That clarifiy? 
						 
						-Wyllym, in an AtenKRM hat 
						 
						 
						(in responce to) 
						 
						To: tir-rapier@yahoogroups.com 
						From: fnordrick@cox.net 
						Date: Wed, 30 Jul 2008 12:31:16 -0400 
						Subject: [tir-rapier] Percussive hits and legal blows 
						 
						 
						 
						Ok now i have a question. I do appologize for the length 
						of this but i do think it is an important point that 
						needs clarification, and i think the rules are a bit 
						hazy.  
						 
						Previously i thought that percussive hits were NOT legal 
						in heavy rapier and only in cut and thrust. Something 
						was mentioned last night that they may be legal if they 
						are done with control. I was looking over the offical 
						rules posted on www.scarapier.com that say the rules 
						were last edited 5/24/08 
						 
						the Section covering vaild blows is a bit difficult to 
						get the legality of percussive blows. 
						 
						A. Valid blows are struck by: thrusting with the point 
						of the blade (thrust) or sliding the edge of 
						the blade by drawing (draw cut). 
						i. Push cuts and tip cuts are treated as valid blows. 
						There is no minimum length for any 
						type of cut. 
						ii. Cut and thrust rapier also includes the use of 
						percussive cuts as a valid blow. 
						iii. Percussive cuts must always be delivered with su 
						fficient control so as not to injure 
						the opponent while still delivering the necessary impact 
						for a valid cut. 
						 
						Reading this with the understanding of percussive cuts 
						being illegal its pretty clear that they are not 
						allowed, but when i re read them it leaves it up to some 
						interpretation. 
						 
						point ii says they are allowed in cut and thrust, but 
						not that they are only valid in cut and thrust. point 
						iii says they must be done with sufficient control (of 
						course), but does not say any thing about it being only 
						in cut and thrust, it is a point under ii which is in 
						relation to cut and thrust, but it is a seperate point 
						not in direct relation to cut and thrust. The whole 
						section is a bit confusion when read with out any 
						assumptions of legal blows. 
						 
						It lists in the main point 2 valid blows, then in the 
						first suboint 2 more valid blows.  
						 
						I have no idea if what i have said makes any sense, but 
						i hope ive gotten it across, sorry again for the length 
						but the last thing i want is any confusion, especially 
						when it could lead to some one getting hurt. 
						 
						Brother Varinn 
     | 
						  | 
						  |